Chatting and learning: TBYL Event No. 1

Yesterday I was pretty nervous. I prepped and preened, anxiously awaiting the very first TBYL Event, Making Tough Times Easier.

Late in the afternoon I took my lists, my notes and myself into the Wheeler Centre. Setting up, I waited with baited breath to see what others would make of TBYL’s grand plan to bring bookish people together, in real life.

I’m pleased to report that it was an amazing evening, complete with revealing insights, great conversations and new connections.

Making Tough Times Easier 1

Making Tough Times Easier was an opportunity to explore how picture books can be used to help parents, carers and educators coach kids through challenges, helping them to become resilent and happier kids.

Sometimes little people have to deal with big challenges.

I was thrilled to be joined by four talented and passionate storytellers; Nicky Johnston (Go Away Mr Worrythoughts), Leon James Wisewould and Paul Nash (Mitchell the Pixel) and Bambi Gordon (Oodlies Kids) all of whom shared a little bit about how their books came about, how they hoped to see them help kids and the positive impacts they’ve seen their work have on the readers around them.

Screen shot 2013-03-28 at 11.54.45 AM

A common theme across the panel was that of their books being ‘conversation starters’ and this really seemed to resonate with the audience. These important picture books don’t just offer a small lesson in and of themselves, but further encourage children and adults to talk about worries and troubles. They help kids work out ways in which they can overcome challenges, with help and encouragement.

Making Tough Times Easier 4I absolutely loved the questions from the audience, as they teased out more about the process of writing and illustrating, as well as giving rise to a little more information on the issues that kids might face in this day and age. We had some great conversations about recognising anxiety in kids and assisting kids to recognise their troubles and ‘find their own magic.’

Making Tough Times Easier 5I’d hoped to keep the session pretty informal, and at times I really felt that we were just having a good chat about picture books. After the sit-down session there was a chance for everyone to catch up, share their own experiences and ask questions of the authors themselves.

In short, today I’m on cloud nine, and I can’t wait to hold the next TBYL Event. I’ve got some big ideas, and I can’t wait to tell you all about them!

I’ve got to say  a great big thank-you to Nicky, Leon, Paul and Bambi. I would also like to thank Joan and Linda for their help on the night, it’s greatly appreciated, I couldn’t have done it without you.

Making Tough Times Easier 2

If you’d like to purchase any of these author’s books, they’re all available now in the TBYL Store, click below for individual titles…

Go Away Mr Worrythoughts, Nicky Johnston $16.95
Happythoughts are Everywhere, Nicky Johnston $16.95
Mitchell the Pixel, Leon James Wisewould and Paul Nash $16.95
If a Smile Should Lose Its Mouth, Bambi Gordon and Joi Murugavell $15.00
What You Do Is Not Your Who, Bambi Gordon and Joi Murugavell $15.00
I Think I’ve Lost The Magic, Bambi Gordon and Joi Murugavell $15.00

And for a short time only, you can get all 6 books for just $85.85 (saving of $10.00)

Thanks again to everyone who got involved in our first event, you made it a resounding success! Stay tuned for more TBYL Events: book it in… coming soon!

Join us: Facebook and Twitter
Sign up for TBYL Book Club here…

Subscribe to TBYL News: All Things Bookish… out monthly!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vanessa Hair
    Mar 29, 2013 @ 16:51:41

    Thank you so much for sharing this TBYL!! It was very interesting! Even though my 3 Children have grown up now, I do have 2 Grandchildren!! One 5 year old, a little Girl and a 1 and 1/2 year old Grandson! I must also add, every now and again I watch Playschool like I did with my Kids when they were little, that might sound silly to some people, but I look at it through Adult Eyes as I love the way Playschool still reads Books to the Children! I also like the way Playschool hasn’t got any Modern Toys on their Show, like Mobile Phones, Computers and Laptops,,,etc!! I’ve been told that, that is one of things Playschool instills in their Program as they try to encourage the Children to use their imagination not Modern Technology! If they do have such things, they make them out of Cardboard Boxes with Paints, Round Stickers for Buttons, Alfoil for the Screens..etc! Hence encouraging the Children to use their Imagination!!

    Kind Regards
    Vanessa :O)

    Reply

  2. That Book You Like
    Mar 29, 2013 @ 16:56:50

    Thanks Vanessa, I’m really glad you found it interesting.

    I love Playschool too, I’ll admit I’m a little bit sad now that Oscar is at school and I don’t get to watch it any more.

    Reply

  3. Beth Cregan (@writeawaywithme)
    Mar 29, 2013 @ 20:56:21

    Great to hear the event was sucessful. I use picture books to teach philosophy workshops for kids so I was sorry I was working and couldn’t get there. It sounded like an inspiring evening. Hopefully I’ll make your next event.

    Reply

    • That Book You Like
      Mar 29, 2013 @ 21:00:08

      That sounds really interesting Beth – what books do you use for that topic? By the way, I’ll let you in on a little secret – I might run a similar session again later in the year (a suburban location) so stay tuned!

      Reply

  4. Trackback: Encouragement: Actually, I Can | That Book You Like...

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 113 other subscribers