So. Much. Fun. Press Here!

Last night on Facebook I was a bit of a tease… I told you all that I’d found the best kids’ book ever. I tested it out on Oscar, and it received his overwhelming tick of approval, and now I want to tell you all about it!

It’s a simple book. It’s not sentimental or sweet, it’s not beautifully illustrated. It’s just clever, and most of all, it’s heaps of fun!

I’m talking about the picture book Press Here, by Herve Tullet. It’s been around since 2010, having first been published in French, and more recently in English by Allen and Unwin.

I won’t describe it to you, instead I’ll let you see for yourself why this book is so much fun…


It is of course educational, a great way for kids to learn about colours, counting, patterns and following instructions. Still, this seems almost besides the point when the kids are having such a great time! I really wish that I’d had a video camera running when Oscar and I first read the book, he was laughing hysterically, throwing himself around. He was fascinated, he thought it was all quite magical and of course wanted to read it over and over.

I’m going to take a copy down to Oscar’s kindergarten this week, and I can’t wait to see what the other kids think of it.

The only problem that I have, is that I’m worried about whether or not I will appear fickle if I now say that this book is my favourite? There’s nothing wrong with having a new favourite every week is there?

Have you and your kids read this book?

Buy your own copy of Press Here at the TBYL Store

 

Join us:   Facebook  and  Twitter
Sign up for TBYL Book Club here…

Subscribe to TBYL News: All Things Bookish… out monthly!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. booksaremyfavouriteandbest
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 01:59:42

    My kids love this book!

    Reply

  2. Jackie Small (@littlebookcase)
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 09:56:38

    This was the book that Cam chose to buy on National Bookshop Day.
    So very clever. Cam had a very similar reaction to Oscar when we first read it. The effect hasn’t really worn off either.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 116 other followers

