The TBYL Book Club is warm!

I woke up yesterday morning, proud as punch and happy as Larry.

Wednesday night’s TBYL Book Club Housewarming Party was a hit and lots and lots of fun. By all accounts everyone had a good time, and I think we’ve all had a chance to get to know each other and the club house a little bit better.

The evening flew by, the games were quick and punchy and everyone got into the spirit of the evening! Thanks so much to everyone who contributed, you made the evening a blast and our new home a very warm one.

Because the night went so fast, I thought it might be nice to give a run down on who won what…

The Lucky Door Prize was won by Patricia B. The prize was a copy of the perplexing Fall From Pride, by Karen Harper (Harlequin)

The winner of the Reading Corner Photo Challenge was Karen B. The prize was a copy of Dare Me, by Megan Abbott (Picador) The photos and descriptions that you guys shared where fabulous, thanks!

The winner of the Desert Island Book give-away was Kate B. Kate won a copy of The Beloved, by Annah Faulkner (Picador)

Tamela D. won the Would You Rather game, and she’ll be getting a copy of Summer at Willow Lake, by Susan Wiggs (Harlequin)

The Reading Pile Photo Challenge was won by Anne H. who shared her list of great reads. She’s won a copy of Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk, by Ben Fountain (Allen and Unwin)

Next we had a bit of trivia about Books to Movies, and you all proved yourselves very clever. The winner was Megan O., and she’s won a copy of Unholy Night, by Seth Grahame-Smith (Allen and Unwin) PLUS an in-season double pass to see ‘Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter’ in cinemas in August.

The winner of the Favourite Front Cover Photo Challenge was Leah W. She’s won some bling! A stylish and practical crystal set Handbag Holder from our friends at iBare Giftware.

We had two winners of the Who am I? game, Sherie B. and Bec W. No tricking these guys, and they’ll both be getting a copy of Ish, by Peter H Reynolds, courtesy of The TBYL Store.

I ran two extra give-aways throughout the evening, one for anyone who subscribed to TBYL News: All Things Bookish (winner was Bec W.) and one for anyone who joined one of the June, July or August TBYL Book Club groups (the winner was Jo B.). Bec chose the lovely Mad Hatter Button Bookmark from The TBYL Store as her prize and Jo has chosen the prize of a gorgeous O-check diary from The TBYL Store.

Finally, we wrapped up the evening with a conversation, and you all told me what you were going to be reading once you were all partied out. Jane D. told us What She Was Reading and won! She’s won a copy of The Taliban Cricket Club, by Timeri N Murari (Allen and Unwin)

PLUS!!

I had more prizes than I had time, so keep an eye on TBYL for chances to play and win, I’ve got some fun games up my sleeve still.

And the first game is TODAY!! All you need to do is leave a comment on this post telling me what you hope the TBYL Book Club will do next. I can’t wait to hear your ideas!

I’ll draw two winners at random on Thursday 28 June 2012. As usual, you’ll have 4 days to claim your prize or I’ll redraw.

Winners will have a choice of one of these three Harlequin titles; Fiona McCallum’s Wattle Creek, Boomerang Bride by Fiona Lowe or Temptation, by Karen Ann Hopkins.

Thanks so much to everyone for joining us, and of course a HUGE thank-you to our sponsors Allen and UnwinPicadorHarlequiniBare Giftware and The TBYL Store.

Join us:   Facebook  and  Twitter
Sign up for TBYL Book Club here…

Subscribe to TBYL News: All Things Bookish… out monthly!

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bec Worthington
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 09:05:48

    I can’t wait for the discussion on Before I Go to Sleep, this week. Though i haven’t finished the book as yet i am hooked and will finish it on the weekend

    Reply

  2. Sherie
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 09:23:55

    I am about to start reading The Boy That Fell To Earth, I heard an interview with the author on the radio and had to get the book. Will let you know how it goes, I have a boy with autism so no doubt I will relate to it

    Reply

  3. Sherie
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 10:17:10

    I will definitely let you know what it’s like 🙂

    Reply

  4. Kathy Petkoff
    Jun 25, 2012 @ 06:27:43

    I’m looking forward to what other people thought of this months book! I’m also looking forward to having my options of things to read expanded and stretched by TBYL!

    Reply

  5. meedee1
    Jun 25, 2012 @ 06:31:05

    hhmm…what the TBYL Book Club will do next??…. I really dont know…maybe start sendinf oit boxes of chocolates with the books???… 🙂

    Reply

  6. Julie
    Jun 25, 2012 @ 07:43:59

    I don’t mind what book TBYL Book Club chooses for the next read. I will have to remember to actually buy the book and participate in the discussion. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Rachel
    Jun 25, 2012 @ 08:04:50

    I am a new member and thoroughly enjoyed last nights little game! I hope to participate in more games and participate in some discussions with other members about books I’ve read or I am reading(I don’t get as much time these days to read as I would like!). It would also be great to have the occasional author in to discuss their book/s!

    Reply

  8. Tracey
    Jun 25, 2012 @ 08:26:41

    I really enjoyed your games night the other night! Lots of fun. Looking forward to doing again in the future perhaps? 🙂 Also looking forward to seeing what everyone thought of the last book. I read it awhile ago. I also look forward to being introduced to some books I would have never picked up without this site.

    Reply

  9. carrie manning
    Jun 25, 2012 @ 08:33:11

    I have just become a member and enjoy reading other people thoughts abouts books i have read or thinking about reading. I think TBYL is a great book club and cant wait to get involved in more discussions

    Reply

  10. anniepinkshoes
    Jun 27, 2012 @ 02:38:36

    I missed the group night. Nights are tough for me to get the computer from hubby or Miss 8.
    Not really sure what you should read next. I’m reading Good in A Crisis at the moment and its not my usual choice of book but I’m really enjoying it.

    Reply

  11. Carmel Corry
    Jun 28, 2012 @ 08:06:25

    Have people post photos of themselves dressed as their favourite book characters! A bit of fun 🙂

    Reply

  12. Tam Jenkin
    Jun 28, 2012 @ 08:34:46

    I would love more live chats…it was great getting to know other book lovers!! oh and the prizes are always great! lol

    Reply

  13. Jenny Esots
    Jun 28, 2012 @ 09:55:21

    Loved the Housewarming ‘do’. I just got the book Before I Go to Sleep – it seems I am always a few steps behind! I do recommend the book Serena by Ron Rash – I just couldn’t put it down – is being made into a film with Bradley Cooper. Cheers.

    Reply

  14. That Book You Like
    Jun 30, 2012 @ 10:21:38

    Winners have now been announced: http://wp.me/1iQpY

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 115 other followers

