Operation Pre-emptive Strike

I’ve got another little hospital trip scheduled for tomorrow morning, and perhaps not surprisingly, the only things that I’ve packed so far are my books. I’ve chosen two to take with me; If You’re Reading This I’m Already Dead and Turquoise both of which should entertain me nicely for the couple of days that I’ll be expected to bunker down at the hospital.

When I get home though, my full reading pile will be moved from my office to the lounge room and set up next to the couch where I’ll have built a little nest, and where I’ll stay cozy, resting and reading for a couple of weeks.

Thank goodness for books…

Some of you might know my breast cancer backstory, and this latest  health interruption is another ‘pre-emptive strike’, a precaution only. It’s recently come to light that ovarian cancer is a bit of issue in the family, and as such, well lets just say I’m taking measures. Better to be safe than sorry.

Anyway, I don’t want to over-share, but I did want to give you all the heads up that you’ll either be hearing a little less from me for a couple of weeks, or lots more. Which way it goes will depend on how spritely I’m feeling. Rest assured, at the very least I’ll be loitering around the edges of the internet until I’m back up and running, and of course I’ll catch you all next Monday, over at the TBYL Book Club. Our conversations about The Help kick off next week, and I can’t wait to hear from a whole bunch of new bookish friends.

Here’s to being back on deck as quick as a shot!

Join us:   Facebook  and  Twitter
Sign up for TBYL Book Club here…

Subscribe to TBYL News: All Things Bookish… out monthly!

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. booksaremyfavouriteandbest
    May 22, 2012 @ 04:36:02

    Hope you have a speedy recovery. Oddly, I’m booked for a short hospital stay in about a months time. If it weren’t for the pain associated with the visit, I’d be really looking forward to the three days of rest! That said, I’m already thinking about all the reading I’ll get to do in that time and during my recovery!

    Reply

    • That Book You Like
      May 22, 2012 @ 04:39:22

      Thanks 🙂 I know what you mean, it’s a nice excuse to put your feet up and read for a little while… bit of a worry that it takes a hospital trip to make that happen, isn’t it?!

      Reply

  2. Kathy Petkoff
    May 22, 2012 @ 04:38:42

    Best of luck my dear friend….. Hope there’s lots of reading done! I hope to see you in the forums next week – best get cracking – I’m only on chapter 2 of this months book! LOL

    Reply

  3. Kirstie
    May 22, 2012 @ 09:33:30

    I hope everything goes well. I am envious of the idea you get to have a reading nest upon your return from hospital.

    Reply

  4. subtlekate
    May 23, 2012 @ 10:31:22

    This is a brave and sensible move and I’m proud 🙂 Enjoy your nest when you come home and let us know how you are going.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 115 other followers

