On the calendar

For the last couple of weeks, I’ve fairly well had my head constantly in one book or another. This, of course is one of my favourite things to do, but once it’s been a few weeks I do start to feel that maybe I’m missing out on something that’s going on. It’s then that I know it’s time to start perusing the events calendars and making some bookings, which is exactly what I did.

I thought I’d share a few choice finds with you, which will in turn give you an idea of the event reviews coming up over the next few months.

First up, I’ve booked myself a ticket to a fantastic event being presented by the Wheeler Centre and the St James Ethic Centre. Freedom of Speech is Over Rated is a debate which promises to be enlightening, entertaining and perplexing. The line-up is impressive; Marcia Langton, Michael Gawenda and Catherine Deveny arguing for the proposition and Julian Burnside, Gretel Killeen and Arnold Zable speaking for the opposing side. I think it’s fair to say that the night might get a little heated, and it’s most definitely bound to get a little cheeky.

It’s being held at the Melbourne Town Hall, and you can book tickets here if you’re keen.

Next is a free exhibition currently being held at the State Library of Victoria. Love and Devotion: From Persia and Beyond, showing until 1 July 2012, is a celebration of Persian manuscripts and affords us the opportunity to see a selection of beautiful and rare original manuscripts.


Somewhat selfishly, I might sell this one as a day-trip and take the kids into the city for the day. After all, Oscar has been nagging me to go back to the ‘Big Library’ ever since the Children’s Book Festival. It’ll be good for them… If you want to find out more about the event, you can visit the exhibition’s beautiful website here.

Lastly, this event is a little bit further away, but Evan and I are both very excited about it already. We’ve got tickets to hear Christopher Paolini speak. Christopher is of course, the author of the incredibly successful Eragon series and his story is an inspirational one. I can’t wait to hear more about just how he managed to put Eragon together at the tender age of fifteen and I think Evan is just excited about seeing the author of a book he’s reading as we speak – brilliant timing! The event is being presented by the Melbourne Writers Festival crew, and will be held 21 June 2012. You can book tickets here.

Plenty to do, learn and write about! Love it!

Have you got any planned bookish outings on the calendar?

Join us:   Facebook  and  Twitter
Sign up for TBYL Book Club here…

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emma @ My Book Corner
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 05:25:46

    Those look great.
    I’ve recently subscribed to their mailing list too – lots of good things coming up, feel quite spoilt for choice! Recently went to see Anita Heiss with Martyn Flanagan which was particularly good.
    Have also treated my ‘little one’- we’re off to see Jeff Kinney in May.

    Reply

  2. That Book You Like
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 05:40:35

    I was thinking the of taking Evan to see Jeff Kinney, but I think he’s just a tiny bit too old for it now. Shame though, I’m sure he’d really enjoy it.

    I’ve got to find something good for later in May or early June…

    Reply

  3. subtlekate
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 07:24:28

    everything seems to be going on in Melbourne at the moment, but there are some things happening with National year of reading at local libraries. There is a talk by Peter Fitzsimmons happening in Randwich rather soonish.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 116 other followers

