My Monday: Masterpiece?

I’m a bit pressed for time today, so I here’s a very quick pic.

Last week I bravely took myself off to a friend’s house for a painting night – I’d promised myself at the start of the year that I’d make some attempts to rekindle my ‘artistic side’ and this seemed like a pretty good way to start.

I’m so glad that I went. We had the lovely evening; wine, chocolate, music and conversation. And I made this…

It’s no masterpiece, but I’m extremely happy to have a finished piece after one evening’s work and at least it’s decent enough to hang on the wall for a little while. Also, much to my delight I’ve also got a bit of an urge to paint some more now too!

When you’ve got a second, why don’t you check out Curry Girl’s beautiful work too, on her blog here. Her hospitality and instruction was wonderful and very, very helpful.

Do you paint? Draw? Has it been a while?

Join us:   Facebook  and  Twitter
Sign up for TBYL Book Club here…

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. subtlekate
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 06:37:46

    Yes, and it’s been ages, literally years and years. I am so glad you went.

    Reply

    • That Book You Like
      Apr 23, 2012 @ 06:50:21

      It really was fantastic! Painting has never been most comfortable medium…I much preferred drawing or printing…so it was great to be able to overcome that barrier and put something on canvas. I’m pleased with myself.

      Reply

  2. Kathy Petkoff
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 08:24:00

    I really like what you painted, and thought that from the second you posted it on the net. Never been a painter, never been a drawer either. I sit on the sidelines with this one and sigh wondering how on earth you can discover you can! Give me a basic idea of something that needs a pattern or something technical to draw and I’m your girl!!

    Reply

  3. Kirstie
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 21:44:41

    I used to draw all the time. I tried to make my own comics. Once when I was living with a family that had young kids (when I first moved out of home) they loved the TV show Dragonball Z and I drew a picture of them with some of their favourite characters. They loved it so I promised them I would make a little comic with them in the Dragonball Z world. I planned to make it about 16 pages, but I ended up drawing about 250. They were mad about it. I still keep it around to marvel at from time to time, but the drawings are too horrific to show any but the closest of friends.

    I used to live on Deviant Art, posting all my fan art and OCs but I had to choose between writing and drawing and the amount of effort I’d need to improove my drawing to a level I’d be happy with far outstripped that of my writing (and writing was always closer to my heart anyway)

    None of my drawing is as artistic as this. Your piece is really quite eyecatching. I love the stained glass feel I get from it. It would be great to see some more as you make them.

    Reply

    • That Book You Like
      Apr 25, 2012 @ 05:38:09

      That’s fantastic Kirstie, sounds like you were very prolific! Having to choose is always hard though isn’t it? Only so many hours in the day 😦

      I’m looking forward to working on the stained glass idea a little more, see if I can’t get it looking a bit more polished. Fun!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 115 other followers

