Fittingly, a top five

It had been my intention to review a few books today, but as I’m running hopelessly behind and my house is bomb site, I’m cutting myself some slack and opting for a quick, novelty post instead.

This week Bright Sea Publishing (who brought us Defender of the Faith) issued a challenge – to list my top five fictional characters of all time. Given that I’m still in a ‘top-fivey’ frame of mind, as a result of my recent re-read of Nick Hornby’s High Fidelity,  I rose to the challenge!

Here’s the closest I can come to a definative top five, in no particular order:


Pan, from Jitterbug Perfume (cheeky, cheeky demi-god)

Pippi Longstockings, from the Pippi Longstockings series (my hero)

Holly Golightly, from Breakfast at Tiffany’s (if only I had half her style)

Sal Paradise, from On the Road (obvious? unavoidable)

Dinah from The Red Tent (strength, passion and child birth)

Not easy, and I reserve the right to change my mind by this time next week. What do you think of my list?

Who would be your top five?

Join us:   Facebook  and  Twitter
Sign up for TBYL Book Club here…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. azizagreen
    Apr 05, 2012 @ 07:42:32

    Great choices! My top five:
    Becky Sharp from Vanity fair
    The little prince from The little prince
    Young Rahel and Esthapen (they’re kinda of one character sometimes) – The god of small things
    And it’s a toss between Archie and Alsana from White Teeth

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 115 other followers

