Imagination at play

Yesterday, I was thrilled to be able to share my love of a good event with my kids.

On a perfect day (not too hot, not too cold) Evan and Oscar and I hopped on a train and meandered into the city for the Children’s Book Festival 2012, held by The Wheeler Centre and the State Library of Victoria (a.k.a ‘The Big Library’).

Greeted by the sounds of the Goss Community Choir, we started our day off by having a little stroll around the lawns to see what was on offer. The vibe was fantastic, lots of people, kids of all ages and everyone keen to hear, see and experience some wonderful kid’s reading.

Oscar stopped off and listened to a couple of stories at the 1001 Nights Tent. It never wears off really does it? The little flutter of joy when watching your kids really enjoy a story – he was enthralled…

After a couple of stories, it was time to go and meet some baby animals. I’d had a tip-off that there was a very cute piglet at the petting zoo and so we happily lined up for a few minutes to check him out…

After the farm, it was time for a wander up Little Lonsdale Street, and who should find but Spot the Dog! Oscar was over the moon, he heard a story, got a hug, and even managed a high five from his favourite spotty dog.

I’m not quite sure what it is about Fire Trucks, but they are always a hit! Both the boys had a great time checking out the truck, with its gauges and hoses and buttons and levers. Oscar was impressed, as he had a chance to sit in the cabin of the big red fire engine, he looked quite at home really.

Then it was on to something a bit more bookish. We went for a bit of a look at The Big Library. The Experimedia room was incredible fun…toys, books, tents and music. We were very fortunate to hear from the lovely Hazel Edwards, who was celebrating Hippopotamus’s 30th birthday! It was quite special to share this with the boys…they didn’t realise as they sat transfixed, that I used to do the same thing when these books were read to me at school. Quite special. It was also very interesting to hear a bit about the behind the scenes of some of Hazel’s favourite picture books.

We’d almost run out of puff, but we couldn’t miss out on just one more experience – the chance to hear from Andy Griffiths. Just around the corner at the Wheeler Centre, we joined a room full of other eager fans to giggle, gasp and gaffaw at the very irreveralant, always funny Andy. Evan and I shared many a laugh, and enjoyed having a chat about the talk and Andy’s books on the way home.

The festival kicked on until 4pm, but we three had had our fill, and it was time to head home. The kids chatted all the way home, and had a ball telling Dad all about the Big Library and the fire trucks, the ducks, the rabbits and the fabulous stories.

These days are what memories are made of…

Join us:   Facebook  and  Twitter
Sign up for TBYL Book Club here…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jackie Small (@littlebookcase)
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 03:36:17

    It sounds like a wonderful day. I’m so sad I missed it. I love that your boys couldn’t wait to tell their dad about the day.

    It is very special when books can connect generations. There’s a Hippo on Our Roof Eating Cake was the very first book I can remember being read to me. I was four, and i had a nightmare that night. He he!

    P.S. Has something changed with WordPress? I can no longer leave a comment unless I log on through Twitter. (Is happening with all WordPress sites). I haven’t always had this issue leaving comments here.

    Reply

    • That Book You Like
      Mar 26, 2012 @ 04:26:03

      That’s funny Jackie, I guess it would be a little scary if you had a Hippo on your roof eating cake 🙂

      I’m not sure about the WordPress thing…I’ve not tried to comment (apart from here) today, but I’ll have a fiddle around. Odd though.

      Reply

  2. angelasavage
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 08:55:07

    I enjoyed your take on the Children’s Book Festival. Gave me insight into what we missed. Such a great event – so much to choose from.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 115 other followers

