Project No. 1, Tick!

So, I was chatting about The Little Book Adventure, a fantastic program being run by My Little Bookcase (in conjunction with the National Year of Reading).

Yesterday, Oscar and I had a ball getting creative with with our book storage. The idea being to arrange Oscar’s book collection in a way that was easily accessible to him, and enticing – it needed to look great, inviting and therefore encourage him to sit and read as part of his average day.

We did just that…

He can reach them…

He can play…

He knows where to find his favourite books…

And he’s got his own little reading spot, which he loves!

This has been wonderful fun, and it’ll make it all the easier for both Oscar and I to remember to make time for lots and lots of story time.

To find out more about The Little Book Adventure, visit the delightful My Little Bookcase.

Join us:   Facebook  and  Twitter
Sign up for TBYL Book Club here…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MrsBox
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 00:30:54

    Awesome!!! I need to get onto doing something like that! When Matilda was little every night before I went to bed I’d set up a selection of books and toys in one section of the lounge including all her books along the windows (our windows go right to the floor). It was such a fantastic way to make reading part of everyday play. That was until the big floods and the water came in from the ceiling and up from the floor and destroyed all her books. Since them I’m sad to say replacing the books and finding a new way to make them both accessible and interesting has not happened nearly fast enough. I’m going to get onto it this week! (“,)

    Reply

  2. That Book You Like
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 01:12:26

    Do you have a library nearby? We’ve got ones that we own on high rotation, but then I always try and get a handful of new ones from the library – partly so he’s not reading the same thing every night, but also because it’s more sustainable than buying a huge library of books for each age-stage.

    Reply

  3. Jackie Small (@littlebookcase)
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 07:06:05

    Mandi, looks wonderful. I just love that Oscar enjoyed the process. The plush toys look like fun too. Isn’t it amazing what a new lease of life you can give books by moving them a bit.

    Mrs Box. So sad that you lost your books in the flood. I’ve got a few in my collection I could send you. Send me an email info@mylittlebookcase.com.au

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 116 other followers

