Weekend reading sorted

This week I have been hopelessly, wonderfully, terribly distracted. Most particularly I’ve been neck deep in new stock for The Store, and have lost hours to fiddling with our new O-Check stationery range, and the gorgeous 2pm at the Button Factory pieces that’s now on offer.

To add to this, I’m pretty sure that Oscar has not stopped talking since Monday, and has been quite insistent that I watch him dance/make play-dough butterflies/do backflips for the better part of the week.

As such, it has made it hard for me to stay on task. On most day’s I can write around the noise, but once I get a bit worn-out this becomes more difficult.

And so, I took a night off last night to watch the last bit of cricket for the season, treated myself to a nanna-nap this afternoon, and am now committed to doing some serious writing! I’ve got three reviews lined up for next week, Matt Johnstone’s Quiet the Mind, Andrew Lane’s Young Sherlock Holmes – Fire Storm, and Nick Hornby’s High Fidelity, so there will be no shortage of reading ideas for young and old.

For this afternoon though, I thought I’d share with you the lovely books that Oscar and I picked up at the library today. He’s really into reading again at the moment, and so I thought some choice picture books were in order for over the weekend. Here’s what’s on the shelf…

Whose Belly? by Jeannette Rowe
A cheeky, fold-out book about bellies, of all things! Bright and colourful, this one will get a few reads, and a few giggles no doubt. Not a lot of reading, but great illustrations and funny tummies.


The Wrong Book, by Nick Bland
This is my pick of the bunch, this book is hilarious. Again, cheeky to boot, and I just love feisty Nicholas Ickle. Oscar had lots of fun with this one too. He seems to be getting to the point with his reading where he tries to ‘reads along.’ This book is perfect for developing this skill, with rhythm, repetition and gorgeous illustrations. Nick Bland is a bit of a favourite here at That Book You Like and you might remember a special guest post about Nick Bland last year…read it here

Ivy Loves to Give, by Freya Blackwood
Last week we read The Runaway Hug (by Nick Bland and Freya) and this stunning picture book is very similar in tone, pace and look. I chose it because I love the look of it, and Oscar really enjoyed the story. I’ll read this one to him a few times over because I love the way it sounds. These types of books are really lovely, and quite important I think, in that they quiet the pace a little and teach otherwise burley little boys a little about small kindnesses. Jackie over at My Little Bookcase reviewed this book last year…read it here

I Want a Pet, by Lauren Child
Another funky, colourful picture book, although I must admit I’m a little worried that Oscar will try and hit me up for a lion or a bat for a pet after reading this one. The illustrations, crazy, scruffy and bright will give us plenty to talk about as we read this one.

That should keep us busy for a little while.

What are you reading with your kids at the moment?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. booksaremyfavouriteandbest
    Mar 09, 2012 @ 05:56:50

    We’re revisiting classics at the moment – Eloise and Alice!

    Reply

  2. Kathy Petkoff
    Mar 09, 2012 @ 07:12:07

    We have a few of the ‘Who’s —–?’ books. I wanted to find the one called ‘Who’s Poo?’ We are really into ‘A dragon in a wagon’ at the moment and Little miss 3 is sitting down with some books and doing the parrot thing now….. It is cute enough to melt your heart (in particular when she’s been a terror!)

    Reply

  3. Jackie
    Mar 09, 2012 @ 07:32:12

    Looks like you’ve won the jackpot at the library this week. I love the array of books you’ve selected. I haven’t read ‘Whose Belly?’ but I love Jeanette Rowe’s fold out books…..and so do the kiddies.
    I hope you and Oscar enjoy your weekend.
    ….and thanks for the adding the links.

    Reply

    • That Book You Like
      Mar 09, 2012 @ 08:14:02

      It was a good trip out Jackie, lots of luck on our side. A few random picks by Osc and I always check for Nick and Freya.

      No worries on getting linky…I hope people pop on over and enjoy your blog 🙂

      Reply

  4. Tania McCartney
    Mar 09, 2012 @ 08:18:35

    What a fabulous selection! I hope Oscar thoroughly enjoys.

    Reply

    • That Book You Like
      Mar 09, 2012 @ 12:11:44

      I think he will Tania. It was lovely this evening, while I was having a bit of a read of my book, Oscar sat down next to me and read through his books too. That’s the first time he’s done that, and it was very special 🙂

      Reply

  5. Jane Dando
    Mar 09, 2012 @ 11:27:23

    My kids always liked “Dear Zoo” by Rod Campbell…I liked it too

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 115 other followers

