January give-away: Happy Birthday to me!

I love birthdays – every year is a bonus, a blessing, a challenge. I have made a promise to myself to celebrate each birthday with great vigour! As such, I’ve enjoyed my wonderful presents, I’m going out for lunch with my boys, I’m going to have a few barbecues with friends and I’m going to eat cake. Lots of cake. With ice-cream.

I didn’t want you guys to miss out on the fun, so I thought I’d mark the day with a give-away. This month, you have a chance to win a copy of one of the books that I’m reading at the moment; Makeda, by Prue Sobers.

“He wanted to applaud her for her cleverness. With peerless skill at court, she had seduced his hidebound courtiers and made them laugh. Now single-handedly, with a feather’s tip, she has soothed his counsellors and brought the rowdy meeting to a seamless head.

As a public figure, she had not disappointed. The private woman was what intrigued him now.”

With Makeda, you’ll take an Ethiopian adventure, travelling with the beautiful and spirited Makeda, the Queen of Sheba. It has romance, intrigue, and royalty – what more could you possibly want?

To go into the running to win, all you have to do is:

1. Leave a comment on this post, or

2. Visit That Book You Like‘s Facebook page

…and tell us what you’re planning to do for your birthday this year.

The winner of this month’s competition (selected at random) will receive a free copy of Makeda.

Entries close Monday, 30 January 2011. The winner will have four days to claim their prize, or a redraw will be held.

Join us: Facebook and Twitter
Sign up for TBYL Book Club here…

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alli
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 05:10:26

    The book sounds interesting full of all the things I love about a book. My birthday has been already it was awesome hubby organised a surpruse dinner for all my closest friendsnan ME

    Reply

  2. Kathy Petkoff
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 10:28:55

    For my birthday this year I’m going to plan a feast. I don’t mind cooking (and still hate the clean up!) but I also know that its the only way anything remotely special will happen….. Pathetic really. DH needs to make sure he’s at least in the country as he tends to forget birthdays are special!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Makeda sheba | J2cab
  4. Melissa
    Jan 30, 2012 @ 07:02:46

    Happy birthday.

    This year, I turn 35. My kids have decided I should have a dress up party like I had for my 21st – come as your favourite fictional character. They can’t wait until I turn 40!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 115 other followers

