With my two hands

It’s New Year’s Eve and the bubbles are chilling. The kids are revved up, and we’re looking forward to catching up with some good friends over the next couple of days.

I’ve been giving some thought to my third, and final new year’s resolution for 2012. After some consideration, I’ve made up my mind. I’ll admit, I think this one will be the hardest to stick too.

My third resolution for 2012: I will set out to make something, with my own two hands, at least once every couple of weeks.

Having rediscovered the joy of writing for writing’s sake, this year I hope to do the same thing with art.

Creating, be it drawing, printing, painting or constructing is one of those things-to-do that so often falls off the end of the to-do-list. It’s not a necessity, so it tends to get laid by the wayside of the average day. But, it is a fabulous way to relax, almost therapeutic and therefore worthy of a little time and attention.

Keep an eye out, I might share a few things here and there. But, more likely what I come up with will be just for me, and more often for the sake of the process much more than the sake of the product.

That’s my big three, wish me luck? I reckon if I get even half-way there on these three new year’s wishes, I’ll have a pretty sweet year.

A huge thanks to everyone for reading That Book You Like this year. Every time you visit I smile, and your comments make me feel connected to a most amazing, wide-reaching community of bookish people. Watch out for big things from TBYL in 2012. As you’ve probably noticed, I’m going to be pushing the envelope and trying some new things (i.e. The Book Club, The Mini-Store) and I’d love for you to get involved. I will of course keep reading and reviewing with abandon.

Again, thank-you and a Happy New Year to you all!

Join us:   Facebook  and  Twitter
Sign up for TBYL Book Club here…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Narelle
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 01:52:36

    Good luck with all your resolutions Mandi. I’m so glad to have met you this year & look forward to lots of exciting times on TBYL in 2012! If you ever want a walking partner let me know, I’d be very happy to keep you company ; )

    Reply

  2. Steph L
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 03:33:25

    My kids make a mess with their own 2 hands every week! 🙂

    Look forward to seeing/reading about your artistic endeavours in 2012

    Steph
    aka Read-Write Gold Coast

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 115 other followers

