December give-away: Summer action

Having enjoyed and reviewed a wonderfully wide range of books in 2011, I’m finishing the year off with some summer action. I’ve just started reading Chris Allen’s action thriller Defender of the Faith and I’m completely sucked in. I can’t wait to have a bit of extra reading time over the Chrissy break to really get into this well constructed, very compelling adventure.

“A British agent is brutally murdered, a President is in danger and the fate of the small West African nation, Malfajiri, lies in the balance.

Enter Alex Morgan, the new star agent of INTERPOL’s ‘Intelligence, Recovery, Protection & Infiltration Division’: INTREPID. Part-policeman, part-soldier, part-spy, Morgan and his fellow INTREPID operatives are the faceless, unassailable strangers among us; serving the world and operating beyond the influence of the most powerful nations.

In Defender of the Faith, Alex Morgan is sent on his first solo mission to hunt down the source of soviet surplus weapons haemorrhaging into Africa and Asia, but gets more than he bargained for, unraveling a complex web of deceit with links to the very heart of the British diplomatic community.

A heart-pounding, no-holds-barred chase, spanning the dark continent of Africa to the crystalline waters of Sydney, culminates in a fight to the end to stop vicious renegade intelligence officer Victor Lundt and uncover the ultimate power behind him.

If only Morgan can stay alive long enough to bring them all to justice.”

I’m thinking that this novel will take me through to the end of the year, and so I’ll post my review of the book early in the new year. In the meantime, you’ve got a chance to win a copy of the e-book (for Kindle).

To go into the running to win, all you have to do is:

1. Leave a comment on this post, or

2. Visit That Book You Like‘s Facebook page

…and tell us about your reading plans for the Christmas/Summer break.

The winner of this month’s competition (selected at random) will receive a free e-copy of Defender of the Faith.

Entries close Monday, 19 December 2011. The winner will have four days to claim their prize, or a redraw will be held.

Join us: Facebook and Twitter
Sign up for TBYL Book Club here…

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nabbu
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 02:40:53

    We are planning to have a rather quiet summer break and I already have a list of books that I want to read, given that they are available in my local library! Love reading the reviews on your website, and a lot of the books featured here are on my list. Will be great to win a copy of “Defender of Faith” so I don’t have to raid my local libraries searching for it, and can just settle in with a cuppa and lose myself into the fascinating world of reading 🙂

    Reply

  2. Tam Jenkin
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 05:29:36

    Well, my immediate reading plans, sadly, is just my to-do list!!! Then when I finally head off camping I am so looking forward to picking up a good book or two to read in the sun, with the sea breeze and a glass of wine…book still to be decided… so many I want to get to!!!

    Reply

  3. Jane Dando
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 08:08:25

    I have a huge list of books on my new Kindle, but Defender of the Faith sounds like it needs to be added on….please…!!!

    Reply

  4. Chris Allen, Author of Defender of the Faith
    Dec 13, 2011 @ 08:25:39

    Gday Mandi and all of your loyal readers! Thanks so much for your support of Defender. I look forward to seeing everybody joining in on the competition and I promise you all that, if you love action, you won’t be disappointed! All the very best for a great Christmas and a safe and prosperous New Year, Chris Allen

    Reply

    • That Book You Like
      Dec 14, 2011 @ 05:52:00

      Thanks for stopping by Chris! I’m really enjoying your book so far, and can’t wait to give someone else the change to read it too.

      Thanks for the Chrissy wishes, and same back to you 🙂

      Reply

  5. Steph L
    Dec 17, 2011 @ 03:22:50

    anything I can get my hands on! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 115 other followers

