Bargain bin

I’ve got a horribly long list of ‘real’ work to do today, and so was going to give blogging a miss today. But alas, I couldn’t resist sharing my bargain bin find…

I just picked up a copy of Ben Elton’s Stark at the local op shop, for, wait for it… 10 cents. I felt guilty, so I gave them 20 cents. Clearly I’m quite the philanthropist.

It made me wonder how a book that was, in its time so incredibly popular, could years later find itself in the 10 cent basket out the front of a random opportunity shop?

But it was to my fortune, as I’m going through retro phase at the moment, reminiscing on all things 1990s and given that I don’t actually own a copy of this humorous novel, it’ll go quite nicely with my collection of 90s books and music. I do, nonetheless, having a sneaking suspicion that this retro indulgence might be a small sign of my ageing…am I right to worry?

I’d really love to hear about your latest ultra-cheap, bargain bin pick-up? Are you like me and stop and sticky-beak in every book basket and street stand? Do tell…

Join us: Facebook and Twitter

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy Petkoff
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 04:47:31

    I think the reason it was in the 10c pile was because while we’re old enough to enjoy and remember the political situation of the time, it has dated with those times….. Unfortunately we are getting older….. *sigh*

    Reply

  2. Jane Dando
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 06:14:38

    I just dropped 10 books down at Vinnies…I reckon I bought them all there too…! I usually pay $3-4 per book, so clearly I am a lot classier than you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 115 other followers

