July give-away: Write your own

Having a memory like a sieve and a fidgety brain, I never go anywhere without a notebook. I also get bored easily, and so I rarely leave the house without a book in my handbag just in case I have to wait half a minute somewhere for something.


So, I ask you, what could be better than a book and a notebook combined? Nothing, that’s what! And that’s exactly what this month’s give-away is – a Penguin Notebook! Write your own story inside the covers of a Penguin classic.

For our July give-away, all you have to do is tell us what you’re reading at the moment…so easy!

 

To go into the running to win this month’s gift, all you have to do is:

1. Leave a comment on this post, or

2. Visit That Book You Like‘s Facebook page

…and tell us what you’re reading. If you’d like, you can tell us what  you think of your current read too, we’d love to hear about it!

The winner of this month’s competition (selected at random) will receive this lovely Penguin Notebook.

Entries close Thursday, 14 July 2011.

Join us:   Facebook  and  Twitter

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karyn
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 06:21:43

    It is probably no surprise that I am reading a green Penguin right now: no. 220 An Oxford Tragedy by J.C. Masterman, first published in 1933. I’ve only just started today, so I cannot tell you what I think of it yet. But I have read and reviewed the green Penguin the notebook is based on, and I remember it as a wonderful book, caustically humorous to begin with, becoming abruptly darker as the story continues.

    Reply

  2. That Book You Like
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 06:55:01

    No surprise at all – except I’m extra pleased that we got the colour right 🙂 BTW, I got my copy of Winesburgh, Ohio today!

    Reply

  3. Rachele
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 08:12:33

    I’m reading plain truth by jodi picoult. A fan of her books. Love how each story is based on some very true facts of life. Look the cover of the book. It is about the amish. A girl has a baby and it is dead. That’s the punch line to it.

    Reply

  4. Fiona @ My Mummy Daze
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 12:05:57

    I’m reading ‘Committed’ by Elizabeth Gilbert. I’ve been reading it for a while now, in between other faster paced books that I’ve picked up. I’m really enjoying it though!

    Reply

  5. Trudy Flemington
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 03:22:15

    Mary Poppins by P. L. Travers.
    So much better than the movie, but I really want to see the stage show.

    Reply

  6. Tara Gent
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 09:30:54

    The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery. Have been finding it pretty hard going, about three quarters through now and quite enjoying it but must admit if it wasn’t for a book club I would have given up on it.

    Reply

  7. Grace
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 11:00:07

    I’m reading Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella. It is a really hilarious novel!

    Reply

  8. Alexandra
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 07:32:00

    I’ve discovered a truth in life- if you need distracting and can’t quite face a book that contains anything to do with love, relationships, family things, drama…. just read a book about a band! Even though all these elements can be found between the pages somehow reading about the love and tribulations of Aerosmith puts me in a good mood (as opposed to a fiction love story, drama, adventure etc.) Thus, after finishing Aerosmith’s tale of drunken and drugged debauchery I went through my bookcase and found a lesser known (that I love) band’s biography. Thus, ‘A Pretty Good Read,’ the biography of Modest Mouse by ALan Goldsher is currently rocking out on my bed- replete with band photos and interviews with the band. Just what the doctor ordered (if doctor’s recommended reading material) to mend my broken heart.

    Reply

    • That Book You Like
      Jul 12, 2011 @ 07:36:00

      Just perfect Alex, wonderful! I’ve got Keith Richards’ gigantic hardcover tome on my reading pile at the moment – when my brain is mushy and vague, it’s just the right type of distraction!

      Reply

  9. Jo @ Little Melbourne
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 07:38:35

    Reading the all new Planning With Kids Book, can’t recommend it highly enough!

    Reply

    • That Book You Like
      Jul 12, 2011 @ 07:42:32

      Oh, I’ve been meaning to check that one out too! I had hoped to get to Southland a couple of weeks ago to meet the author, but had a clash with bball (Saturday sports…priority) I’ll have to get hold of a copy.

      Reply

  10. Karin
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 23:55:54

    I’m reading the entire “Series of Unfortunate Events”. I’m almost half way through, having just started Book 6. I love all the literary references in the books. I’m sure the average child wouldn’t have noticed them, but I wonder how many adults did or would? They are so much fun.

    Reply

    • That Book You Like
      Jul 14, 2011 @ 00:18:33

      What a great pick Karin. I’ve been trying to get my older boy into them, because I really like them, but not so much luck. Maybe I’ll have a better chance with my younger one once he’s old enough.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 115 other followers

