June give-away: What do you love?

As you might have gathered by now, I’m quite keen on sharing the things I love. For me, there’s nothing quite like having a bit of a chatter about a book I love, an artist I’m into, or a play I’ve really enjoyed – hence my funny, mixed-up little blog.

But now it’s your turn! I would very much like to hear about your favourite things, and I’ll make it worth your while.

To go into the running to win this month’s give-away, all you have to do is:

1. Leave a comment on this post, or

2. Visit That Book You Like‘s Facebook page

…and tell us about one of your favourite things! Pics and links are great too, and I’d love you to tell us why it’s such a fav.

The winner of this month’s competition (selected at random) will receive one of my most recent favourite things…a 365 Diary, from Kikki K. You can find out why I love these diaries so much here, but the bestest reason of all is that they can be started at any time of any year – you’ve gotta love it!


Looking forward to seeing what you’re all loving at the moment! Entries close Thursday, 16 June 2011.

Join us:   Facebook  and  Twitter

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy Petkoff
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 07:40:35

    The things I love are, books, feeding the people I care about (if you get food you count!) and lately decorating cakes.

    Reply

  2. Karyn
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 11:36:56

    If I put to one side the people in my life, you can probably guess that the things I like most are vintage Penguin paperbacks. The reasons are complex and numerous, and don’t relate only to the beautiful covers and how they look, because my real passion is for reading them. They provide a different way of learning about the past, and I am constantly surprised by the unexpected things I read. And there is always that interesting question to consider: why do some books survive, while others are forgotten? I come across the most exceptional forgotten books, and often feel frustrated that there is nothing I can do about it. My favourite old Penguin is by J.I.M. Stewart: The Last Tresilians. It is wonderful.

    And referring to a recent post of yours, I also enjoy the music of Josh Pyke. I met him last month when he was in Perth with the Basement Birds, and I was impressed with how pleasant and friendly he was.

    Reply

    • That Book You Like
      Jun 02, 2011 @ 12:59:44

      Karyn, I’ve been really fascinated by the titles that you’ve talked about from your collection (http://apenguinaweek.blogspot.com/) an amazing range of quite obscure titles. Makes you think about what will happen to all the titles being released in the present day…will it happen to them too?

      I’m very jealous that you got to meet Josh…I’m a pretty big fan. I saw him Lonsdale St, Melb a couple of years ago and was just a little bit star-struck – he seems like quite a lovely guy.

      Reply

      • Karyn
        Jun 03, 2011 @ 09:50:32

        I think the sad answer is that yes, the titles of today will be forgotten in their turn. This idea of knowledge not being passed on to the next generation is something I notice increasingly as I get older, and it always takes me by surprise. One of the many other things I love are films from the 1960s, particularly those starring Steve McQueen, such as Bullitt and The Thomas Crown Affair. They have a quietness about them, a sense of space and emptiness that you don’t find in films made today. And yet it’s not uncommon to meet adults who have never heard of Steve McQueen, and this is something inconceivable to someone my age because there really was no one more famous when I was young. People, books, films have their moment, and then are forgotten so quickly. And enduring or being remembered seems to be as much due to chance as to merit.

      • That Book You Like
        Jun 03, 2011 @ 11:05:34

        Karyn, it’s really interesting that you should mention films, and their ‘quietness’. We finally got around to seeing The Road last week (I read the book late last year) and one thing that really stood out to me was the subtlety, quiet and space that was used in telling the story (film and novel)…it made for a more moving tale I think, than if it had been a noisy, extreme, Mad Max type apocalyptic story. It’s a real art isn’t it?

        Maybe I’ll have to do a bit of a classic screen icons feature soon…

  3. Rachele
    Jun 11, 2011 @ 14:34:49

    Things i like are pretty things, cute things, pink things, sweets and candy, plsuh toys and sushi ♥

    Reply

  4. Sharyn
    Jun 14, 2011 @ 12:58:51

    I really like my electric blanket in fact it’s my favourite thing about winter!

    Reply

  5. Shauna McGregor
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 07:04:50

    I love watching my 3 boys play soccer at the weekends. Rugging up in my winter jacket & many layers,gumboots(so my socks don’t get wet), beanie and getting a takeaway coffee & cheering them on from the sideline and watching them trying their hardest is what I love.

    Reply

  6. Joan
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 10:53:05

    What are the things I love ? The first thing that springs to mind is sitting on the veranda of our farm reading a book and occasionally staring out at the ever stretching landscape of trees and empty space. This has to be the most relaxing and joyful experience.

    Reply

  7. Jo
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 13:24:18

    For family fun we can’t go past The Collingwood Children’s Farm and the Farm Cafe afterwards for yummy nosh. We also love Scienceworks, not just for the kiddos it’s grown-up fun too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 115 other followers

