One rainy school night…

When I was a kid, I really thought that ‘No, it’s a school night’ would stop applying once I was a grown-up. Only now am I starting to work out that this simply isn’t the case. More often than not, what gets done on a weeknight is almost as restricted as it was when my parents were calling the shots, only now it’s not so much because of the morning after (which I assume was my Mum’s concern) but rather due to the day that’s just happened.

Every now and then an offer of an outing on a weeknight comes up and I make best laid plans to get there. Often the engagement is missed; it’s too reliant on how much energy I’ve got left at the end of the day (which is getting better, but ain’t what it used to be – thanks Mr. Chemo), it depends on the kids (feeding time at the zoo, and a hose down before bed), and on whether or not hubby can get away from work in time to get back to wrangle the kids for me. In saying that, I am on a bit of a crusade to make sure that I make the time and effort to get out of the house and look at clever art, listen to smart people, and hear nice tunes. This is especially important to me at the moment, after my recent stint being an invalid, as I feel it’s really time to get this restless mind and body back out into the really real world.

Given the challenges (as I see them), I’m very pleased to say that I made it to the opening of Mt Zero Cabin 1 at the Grampians, the exhibition that I’ve been talking about over the last week or so. Although I didn’t commit to getting scrubbed up and dressed pretty until Matt got home, (because I didn’t quite believe I’d actually get out the door) all went to plan and we made it over to Armadale.

Artists Lisa Sewards and Sue Picot

The Firestation is a lovely venue, and the exhibition is intimate. It includes a wonderful blend of works on paper, rough and unrefined as well as beautifully framed and presented works reading for the hanging.

Art by: Lisa Sewards

The inks and watercolours were my personal favourites, but the variety of mediums including charcoals, pastels, etchings and oils makes for an interesting little exhibition.

As Lisa pointed out on the night, it was fascinating to see the work of five different artists all working in the same space, with the same subject, at the same time. All five; Lisa Sewards, Trudy Rice, Roz Rogers, Sue Picot, and Bern Olle present  a unique interpretation of the natural landscape of Mt Zero, and all present a place of beauty – sometimes rich, sometimes sparse, and always inviting.

If you’ve a spare half-an-hour, I’d really suggest popping by – you might also like to check out the studio’s printing facilities, which are for hire to artists.  All works in the show are for sale, and very affordable. The show is on until 22 May 2011.

Art by: Bern Olle

Reading Update
A little less highbrow, but certainly no less rich with talent, I’m reading Birmingham’s Weapons of Choice at the moment.  It’s very different to the novels I usually read, but I’m surprised by how easy I’m finding it to get into – very enjoyable so far.

Further, because Weapons of Choice is such a big book, I’ve also got a travelling-read too (my handbag is big, but it’s not that big).  When I’m on the go, I’m reading Malinche, by Laura Esquivel. Two quite contrasting reads.

Keep an eye out for a review of both in the not too distant future.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jess
    May 13, 2011 @ 07:21:17

    Looked like a great night out, Mandi! Totally know what you mean about school night outings (not that I get out much on ANY night). Hard to sum up the enthusiasm when your mind’s on getting the kids up early the next morning, what to prepare for school lunches, if you’ve filled in all the neverending notices etc. Sadly, I too understand the yearning of the mind for a bit of art and culture: my mummy brain seems to have turned to mush 😦
    I am thoroughly enjoying your blog, and I am INTENT on getting back to reading books other than The Gruffulo and Green Eggs and Ham.
    Thank you for all the literary and arty inspiration! xxxx

    Reply

  2. That Book You Like
    May 13, 2011 @ 07:42:02

    It’s very tricky, there’s no doubt. To illustrate, I’m currently writing this with Evan looking over my shoulder say ‘Who’s Jess’ and Oscar’s dinosaurs are shouting the same thing over, and over, and over…very easy for the mind to just tune out.

    But, I’ve found that it’s a bit like exercise, the more you do, the more you feel like doing it – I think it is worth it even though it’s sometimes difficult to organise.

    I’m so pleased that you like my blog, I’m having a ball with it! Let me know when you pick a book, I’d love to hear what you choose 🙂 I’m really enjoying your blog too, I was so envious of your Grinderman coffee cup!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 115 other followers

