Am I in trouble?

I hate to sound cliched, but I really can’t believe that it’s school holidays again already – time flies I guess. Fortunately I really like holidays and very much enjoy having Evan at home for a bit. The slower pace is greatly appreciated, and Evan and Oscar really benefit from having some well-earned down-time.

But as the weather starts to crack up a bit, it does get a little bit tricker to avoid the lure of computer games and TV for hours on end.  It’s great to be able to break up the screen time with a good book, so it was very good timing when a couple of weeks ago we got hold of a free sneak peek (courtesy of Kidna Books) of a new kid’s series called Troubletwisters, by Garth Nix and Sean Williams.

Evan’s had a bit of a read of the teaser, and has kindly given me his thoughts on this new adventure series.

Troubletwisters, by Garth Nix and Sean Williams

Troubletwisters is about twins called Jade and Jack Shield.  The story starts simply, when their Dad comes home late, and while they are waiting for him they get a mysterious letter.  When the twin’s Mum sees this letter she gets very angry and takes it from them.

When their Dad finally gets back, late as usual, they help him take his bag upstairs.  While helping, the bag breaks and something very frightening falls out of his suitcase…when they touch the odd item, they get very dizzy and the room starts twisting and shaking. Jade and Jack hear a very mysterious voice and all kinds of trouble starts.

I think this is a very mysterious and interesting book and it reminds me of another series called 39 Clues which has a quite similar storyline.  I can’t wait to see the next book in this series.  I think it would be good for kids my age (10 years old) and a little bit older or younger.  I also think it would be fun for both boys and girls to read. Reviewed by Evan J

Sounds good to me.  I had a little read of the first chapter myself and it seems well written and I’d agree with Evan that it looks like it would appeal to both boys and girls.  Worth a look once the full novel is released in May 2011.

Do you or the kids have any suggestions for kid’s reading over the holidays?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dorothy
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 10:19:47

    I’ve read some books by both of these authors written for adults and really enjoyed them. Thanks for the review!

    Reply

  2. That Book You Like
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 10:42:25

    That’s great! Do you have any recommended titles? Always love to hear what others have found enjoyable.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 115 other followers

