Junk-food for the mind

Commuting is a great chance to zone out for a while, and maybe get a bit of reading done.  Perfect time for a little junk-food for the mind.

In the last two days, I’ve had a quick jet-set up and back to Sydney for work.  The organisation that I work for, PIEF turned 5 years old this year (no small feat for an education foundation) and we celebrated over dinner with the team, the Board and some faithful supporters.

A glass of bubbly and some fine food at L’Aqua in Darling Harbour was, in my opinion a wonderful way to mark the occasion.

On the flights there and back I had a bit of a look around at what people where reading and wasn’t entirely surprised to see that a lot of it was pretty light.  As for myself, I was reading He Died with a Felafel in his Hand which is lots of fun, but not exactly profound. I guess at the end of the day there is no need to try and read a Russian classic or some Shakespearean drama when surrounded by public on mass and loudspeaker announcements.

In saying that, I’ve never been really good with pulp fiction – I’m not very good at picking it or reading it, so now I’m curious.

HELP US OUT?  What was the last light/pulpy/junky read that you had?  Can you give me some suggestions, and let me know if you’d recommend them as worth a look?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy Petkoff
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 08:17:13

    The last ‘soft’ novel I read (and it’s about all my addled brain can handle some days) was the Plantation by Di Morrissey. Kind of interesting looking at Malaysia and the changes in government since the second world war, palm oil, rubber plantations and orangatans. A bit too light for me though….

    Reply

  2. Matt Johnston
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 08:52:39

    That fast feed read is all I have had time for since I got serious about trying to be a more career minded individual. I find myself reading finance and career related text and this has unfortunately destroyed my appetite for reading for oneself and… a funny correlation.. just a little bit of my soul. I find myself looking forward to the Sunday morning read collecting the Sunday Age magazines which have cheery yet sceptical views on modern life.

    They seem to say I’m fashionable, smart and oh so witty all at once. Of course I find this appealing to, and confirming, my 30 something suburban views on family, work and friends. But then the kids start demanding this or that and the magazine is put in the recycle box. Much like the blog the magazine life is oh so short. Oh well off to mow the lawns I guess…

    Reply

  3. sue wharton
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 09:20:35

    looks like a beautiful place to have had your 5th yr dinner

    Reply

  4. Linda
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 05:40:29

    What about some Jasper Fforde on the side The Eyre Affair is thrilling and unpredictable,peppered with literary references and in-jokes just a fun read I love it……
    Linda
    Kidna Books

    Reply

  5. Brent
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 02:02:41

    im currently reading the DEXTER series of books (that inspired the television show) They are exactly junk food for the mind. Not exactly intellectually stimulating but if you can suspend your disbelief they are great entertainment – which after all, one of the reasons many people read anyway.
    😉

    Reply

  6. Joan Holschier
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 01:09:50

    Hi ,
    This a poem our friend has written for our wedding which I think is very special .
    THE CANVAS FOR JOAN AND MICHAEL

    A sleepy morning star quietly awakes to lemon stripes of dawn
    The hush of distracted dreams rest on the present silent breeze
    Each has a special way – born in Echuca and Dundonald
    From distant horizons they meld today under a past Celtic gaze.
    *
    In Mathoura the sky is plumed with perfect cirrus chevrons
    And a canvas is ready to seep in a flood of ideas and desires
    Their pallet is willing with a roulette of welcome vibrant colour
    The brush sings on a promise of what the land could bring.
    *
    Symbolic golden rings bind strong the essence of their family circle
    A private gallery etched in the embracing suede landscape.
    In time the brilliant canvas will be painted with ribbons of wheat
    Sheep in ochre fields – artistic twists unravelling as time permits.
    *
    With dreams that burst from this first diamond night star
    Together they create a bright tomorrow from their two yesterdays.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 115 other followers

